To encourage student volunteer services in the IEEE and its test community, the IEEE Test Technology Technical Council (TTTC) and the International Test Conference (ITC) are pleased sponsor the Gerald W. Gordon Award Program starting 2003. The award honors the memory of Gerald W. Gordon, a well-known leader and activist in the IEEE and its test community and a long time member of the ITC Steering Committee.

The award is granted annually for ten years (2003-2012). The award presentation will take place during ITC/Test Week.

Award Criteria

A certificate is presented annually to a current student for credible service to IEEE test technology related activities, programs and organizations. Qualification is enhanced by the level and number of contributions and dedication to service.


Nominations for this award are solicited. Both, self-submission or nominations are accepted. Also, two to five endorsement statements are required. The Nomination Form can be downloaded by clicking here (Microsoft WORD). The nomination deadline for 2010 is July 31, 2010.

All applications will be evaluated by the dedicated G.W. Gordon Award Selection Subcommittee to consist of five members organized as part of the TTTC Awards program. For additional clarifications regarding the selection process, please do not hesitate to contact the Subcommittee CoChairs Kenneth MANDL and Yervant ZORIAN.

Award Package 

  • Certificate presentation and Announcements as described above.
  • Complimentary Registration to ITC
  • Complimentary Registration to two TTEP tutorials and one workshop held during Test Week
  • Reimbursement of travel cost up to a predetermined level
  • Lodging provided at one of the ITC Hotels

Past recipients 

Name Year Description Location
Ahmad Al-Yamani, Stanford University, Palo Alto, CA, USA 2003
Bartomeu Alorda, Univeritat de les Illes Balears, Majorca, Spain 2004
Olga Melnikova, Kharkov National University of Radio Electronics, Kharkov, Ukraine 2005
Szilard Enyedi, Technical University of Cluj-Napoca, Cluj-Napoca, Romania 2006
George Xenoulis, University of Piraeus, Greece 2007
Gurgen Harutyunyan, Yerevan State University, Armenia 2008



Upcoming conferences and symposia

IEEE International Symposium on On-Line Testing and Robust System Design (IOLTS) 2024

Submission of title, abstract, and author list: 23 February, 2024
Final Paper Submission: 29 February, 2024
Author Notification: 09 April, 2024
Conference Dates: July 3 – 5, 2024

IEEE European Test Symposium (ETS) 2024
Paper registration: December 8, 2023
Paper PDF upload: December 16, 2023
Notification: February 16, 2024
Conference: May 20-24, 2024

IEEE VLSI Test Symposium (VTS) 2024
Paper registration: October 9, 2023
Paper PDF upload: October 15, 2023
Questions to authors: December 9, 2023
Submission of rebuttal: December 14, 2023
Notification: December 23, 2023
Camera-ready upload: February 03, 2024
Conference: April 22-24, 2024